Clare Vanderpool
 Children's Book Author


         "You have to write the book that wants to be written.  And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children."

                                               Madeleine L'Engle
Navigating Early
has been named a
2014 Printz Honor Book!

One boy from Kansas

+ one boy from Maine

+ one boat on the  


+ a search for a great bear

+ 3.14 (pi)_________________

= The journey of a lifetime

After his mother's death at the end of World War II, Jack Baker is suddenly uprooted from his home in Kansas and placed in a boys' boarding school in Maine.

       Feeling lost and adrift, Jack can't help being drawn to Early, who refuses to believe what everyone accepts to be the truth about the great Appalachian bear, timber rattlesnakes, and the legendary school hero known as the Fish, who was lost in the war.

       When Jack and Early find themselves alone at school, they set out for the Appalachian Trail on a quest for the great black bear.  Along the way they meet some truly strange characters, several of them dangerous, all lost in some way, and each a part of the pi story Early continues to reveal.  Jack's ability to be a steadfast friend to Early will be tested as the boys discover things they never knew about themselves and others.

       Navigating Early is a story that will challenge and astound readers as they navigate mysterious and uncharted lands.

(From the book jacket)


January 10, 2012

One year ago today...

I received amazing news.  It's not the only time I've received wonderful and life changing news.  Other times:

18 years ago, the doctor said, "It's a boy!" 

16 years ago, "It's another boy!"

14 years ago, "It's a girl!"

11 years ago, "It's another girl!"

9 years ago, "It's a dog!"

7 years ago... well, that must have been a slow year in the world

                       of amazing news, but you get the gist.

Still, January 10th, 2011 will forever be a day I will remember and celebrate.  A day that will give me lots of opportunities to say to my kids, "See, amazing things happen... and they can happen to you!"

This past year has been filled with many wonderful experiences.  Of course, one of the most special was the ALA conference in New Orleans where I received the Newbery Award.  My family came out in full force, i.e. my husband and four kids, my sister, her husband and their four kids, and my mom and dad.  I joked that we were like the Clampitt's riding into New Orleans.  No, we did not strap Grandma to the top of the 15 passenger van, but we certainly felt like we had struck it rich and really enjoyed the cement pond at the hotel.

I've met many wonderful people, spoken at lots of schools and conferences, gotten some great fan mail.  One of my favorites was from a 4th grader who told me he was glad that Kansas was now known for something other than basketball and weather!  That's big noise, especially since Kansas is pretty much the birthplace of basketball. 

So 2011 was a wonderful year but not only because of a special award.  Other big events:  Lucy got her braces off.  Paul got his braces on.  Luke crammed 80 high school kids in our garage for a dance and everyone survived.  Grace's singing has not broken any windows... yet.  (Lucy made me put that.)

And I finished my next book!  It is called Navigating Early and will come out next spring.  More on that soon.

So, life goes on and life is good.


April 2011

Okay.  I’ve procrastinated long enough.  Actually, I wouldn’t call it procrastination.  I just haven’t wrapped my brain around the fact that people I’m not related to are actually reading my website. 


I had a fun time creating this website last summer in preparation for the book coming out and part of that was because I approached it as if I was just talking to my sister, my kids, or my friend across the street.


Then January 10th rolled around and the Newbery seal went on my book, and all of the sudden people were e-mailing me, telling me something they had read on my website.  I think that’s when I froze up a bit and I gave myself the excuse of not updating it because I had to write my Newbery acceptance speech.  Or I needed to prepare for upcoming speaking engagements.  And those were valid excuses.  But then, they became a little less valid – like I need to fold some laundry.  Or I need to let the dogs out.  Or I really need to change out that roll of toilet paper. 


That’s when I realized I had a bit of writer’s block regarding my website.  So I decided to go to go back to what worked the first time.  I’m just going to write as if I’m talking to my sister, my kids, or my neighbor across the street - and just tell you what’s been going on in my world lately.


In a nutshell, life has been wonderful, crazy, and very busy.  I’ve had many invitations to speak at schools, conferences, book festivals.  What a thrill to get to talk to so many people who are very excited about my book!


In fact, I would have to say that one of the most unexpected and most wonderful results of winning the Newbery has been the way my local community in Wichita and people across Kansas have embraced the book and celebrated this wonderful honor with me.  It’s like there’s this big Newbery train and everyone feels free to jump on.  And I love that!


I also love the fact that I’ve had some great help.  While I was in New York immediately following the Newbery announcement, my sister and our good friend CY (C.Y. not sigh) came up with a To-Do list to help me in those busy days.  Things like #4 – Make new business cards.  #7 - Start a scrapbook.  And my favorite one, #13 – get pre-loaded credit cards for CY and Annmarie.


We set up weekly meetings to help keep me organized.  They consist of Annmarie and CY showing up at my house asking, “Is the coffee on?”  Or  “Can I fix myself an egg?”  Then Annmarie’s kids eat their breakfast at the counter and CY’s son tells us how the Wichita State Shockers are doing.  As soon as everyone’s fed, the kids go off to play or watch a show and I clean up the kitchen.  Then we start to discuss something, like updating my website, and then Annmarie’s littlest one has to go to the bathroom.  Then we start to talk about up upcoming event just in time for CY’s phone to ring.  Then I start to pull out my calendar to go over a few odds and ends as CY packs up to take Jake to school and Annmarie gathers up her kids.  Then I go in the family room to pick up the monopoly game that has been “played with” and is now on the floor. 

I get a lot done at those meetings.


But my daughter Grace did start a wonderful scrapbook full of Moon Over Manifest pictures and memorabilia, Annmarie did design some great new business cards, along with some for herself and CY giving them each the job title of “Assistant to the Assistant.”  They are still waiting for their fully loaded credit cards but I do make sure they get coffee and an egg once a week.


We’re all chipping in and we’re all having a great time.


Hopefully, I’ll get another update in before long.  I need to go change a roll of toilet paper.

oakley kitchen sink backpack review

Full Colours oakley kitchen sink backpack review Free Shipping oakley kitchen sink backpack review New Arrival, Hot Style

latest computer technology news oakley kitchen sink backpack review At this point oakley repairs I oakley monster dogs for sale tried right clicking a host and manually connecting it this worked, but only 60 seconds or so, and red burberry scarf then it disconnected again. 00 Compare Annor Stretch Cotton Blue £16. Upright Stainless Fridges Fish Cooler Stainless Steel Upright Fridge 600 Deep Stainl. Whilst it was connected it was manageable, and of course all the VMs on each host were still fine. 00 Compare Attak cheap hermes scarf Stretch Denim Twill Black & White £15. I tried restarting management agents on a host and retrying the procedure, but this didn't help either. 00 Compare Aztec Sequin Jersey Black £29.

Save Money On oakley kitchen sink backpack review your best choose 04 oakley poc ski helmets ex VATWaxoyl Rust Proofing Extension Probe for oakley drill bit .5 Pressure Sprayer1 Probe29 Results (Viewing 1 29 of 29)Sort Products By. Our portfolio of award winning events is home to the world's most prestigious field sports competitions, and great family entertainment. Countryman Fairs – Bringing the countryside to life Latest News Prev 12345 Next Kids Go Free at all Countryman Fairs Events. February 7th 2014 Read gucci flora scarf Great Wall Motor World Series Gundog Championship with Chudleys is Back. February 4th 2014 Read Chudleys sponsor Great Wall Motor World Series Gundog Championship for Second Year. January 31st 2014 Read World Hunter Field Target Championship at the 2014 Kelmarsh Country Show January 31st 2014 Read 2013 Clay Shoot Winner, louis vuitton scarf women sale Jason Duncton collects new Chrome. November 22nd 2013 Read FeaturedMost Popular Kelmarsh Country Show arrives Easter 2014.

So who does…it's oakley radar pitch polarized a mistake to assume it's the best choice for everyone. To see what else oakley optical frames is out there, simply use our broadband comparison service. 659,00 € Vacuum rolls, 200x6000mm, 2 rolls 10,00 € Coffe maker, 270x270x360 mm, 6 litres, 950 W,. How does fibre scarf gucci optic broadband work. Unlike telephone lines which have essentially been repurposed to carry broadband fibre optic cables are custom built for broadband. 69,00 how hermes scarves are made € Coffe maker, 320x320x445 mm, 10 litres,1650 W,. Information is transmitted as flashes of light. We provide Cheap Luxury Items outlet with cheap prices and high quality oakley kitchen sink backpack review Free shipping included on all orders

We take pride in oakley sunglass repair our mission to improve the well being of millions of people every day, and oakley oil rigs on sale in a lasting way. Lastly, don't forget to ensure hermes astrologie scarf leopard scarf louis vuitton your licensing is sorted out after the upgrades are complete. 15 2D Key: View key definitionsPRE BOOK YOUR TICKETS ONLINE View full details on this film. In the next part, we'll take a look at other tasks involved with an upgrade to vSphere 5. Antunes Chief Executive Officer to read in the same section President's letter Social responsibility & Education Ethics & Values Sustainable development www. More in this series: Part 1  Upgrading to vSphere 5. 00 SMMSMM Saturday Morning Movie Key: View key definitionsPRE BOOK YOUR TICKETS ONLINE View full details on this film. oakley kitchen sink backpack review

Luxurious sale at oakley kitchen sink backpack review from high quality fabrics So oakley repairs glasses coming up in Part 2, I will oakley probation sunglasses for men cover the cheap louis vuitton scarf next step burberry green scarf in upgrading your environment to vSphere 5. 0 the ESX(i) hosts along with a couple of different methods of doing this. If there is anything that I have missed, or you have any tips or additional info, please feel free to update using the comments section. More in this series: Part 2  Upgrading to vSphere 5. x – Part 2 – Manually upgrading ESX(i) hosts Part 3  Upgrading to vSphere 5. x – Part 3 – Using VUM to upgrade ESX(i) hosts Categories: How tos, VMware Tags: esx, esxi, from, how to, update, upgrade, upgrading, vcenter, VMware, vsphere 4. Obviously you'll need a COM port on the physical hardware to start.