Clare Vanderpool
 Children's Book Author


         "You have to write the book that wants to be written.  And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children."

                                               Madeleine L'Engle
Navigating Early
has been named a
2014 Printz Honor Book!

One boy from Kansas

+ one boy from Maine

+ one boat on the  


+ a search for a great bear

+ 3.14 (pi)_________________

= The journey of a lifetime

After his mother's death at the end of World War II, Jack Baker is suddenly uprooted from his home in Kansas and placed in a boys' boarding school in Maine.

       Feeling lost and adrift, Jack can't help being drawn to Early, who refuses to believe what everyone accepts to be the truth about the great Appalachian bear, timber rattlesnakes, and the legendary school hero known as the Fish, who was lost in the war.

       When Jack and Early find themselves alone at school, they set out for the Appalachian Trail on a quest for the great black bear.  Along the way they meet some truly strange characters, several of them dangerous, all lost in some way, and each a part of the pi story Early continues to reveal.  Jack's ability to be a steadfast friend to Early will be tested as the boys discover things they never knew about themselves and others.

       Navigating Early is a story that will challenge and astound readers as they navigate mysterious and uncharted lands.

(From the book jacket)


January 10, 2012

One year ago today...

I received amazing news.  It's not the only time I've received wonderful and life changing news.  Other times:

18 years ago, the doctor said, "It's a boy!" 

16 years ago, "It's another boy!"

14 years ago, "It's a girl!"

11 years ago, "It's another girl!"

9 years ago, "It's a dog!"

7 years ago... well, that must have been a slow year in the world

                       of amazing news, but you get the gist.

Still, January 10th, 2011 will forever be a day I will remember and celebrate.  A day that will give me lots of opportunities to say to my kids, "See, amazing things happen... and they can happen to you!"

This past year has been filled with many wonderful experiences.  Of course, one of the most special was the ALA conference in New Orleans where I received the Newbery Award.  My family came out in full force, i.e. my husband and four kids, my sister, her husband and their four kids, and my mom and dad.  I joked that we were like the Clampitt's riding into New Orleans.  No, we did not strap Grandma to the top of the 15 passenger van, but we certainly felt like we had struck it rich and really enjoyed the cement pond at the hotel.

I've met many wonderful people, spoken at lots of schools and conferences, gotten some great fan mail.  One of my favorites was from a 4th grader who told me he was glad that Kansas was now known for something other than basketball and weather!  That's big noise, especially since Kansas is pretty much the birthplace of basketball. 

So 2011 was a wonderful year but not only because of a special award.  Other big events:  Lucy got her braces off.  Paul got his braces on.  Luke crammed 80 high school kids in our garage for a dance and everyone survived.  Grace's singing has not broken any windows... yet.  (Lucy made me put that.)

And I finished my next book!  It is called Navigating Early and will come out next spring.  More on that soon.

So, life goes on and life is good.


April 2011

Okay.  I’ve procrastinated long enough.  Actually, I wouldn’t call it procrastination.  I just haven’t wrapped my brain around the fact that people I’m not related to are actually reading my website. 


I had a fun time creating this website last summer in preparation for the book coming out and part of that was because I approached it as if I was just talking to my sister, my kids, or my friend across the street.


Then January 10th rolled around and the Newbery seal went on my book, and all of the sudden people were e-mailing me, telling me something they had read on my website.  I think that’s when I froze up a bit and I gave myself the excuse of not updating it because I had to write my Newbery acceptance speech.  Or I needed to prepare for upcoming speaking engagements.  And those were valid excuses.  But then, they became a little less valid – like I need to fold some laundry.  Or I need to let the dogs out.  Or I really need to change out that roll of toilet paper. 


That’s when I realized I had a bit of writer’s block regarding my website.  So I decided to go to go back to what worked the first time.  I’m just going to write as if I’m talking to my sister, my kids, or my neighbor across the street - and just tell you what’s been going on in my world lately.


In a nutshell, life has been wonderful, crazy, and very busy.  I’ve had many invitations to speak at schools, conferences, book festivals.  What a thrill to get to talk to so many people who are very excited about my book!


In fact, I would have to say that one of the most unexpected and most wonderful results of winning the Newbery has been the way my local community in Wichita and people across Kansas have embraced the book and celebrated this wonderful honor with me.  It’s like there’s this big Newbery train and everyone feels free to jump on.  And I love that!


I also love the fact that I’ve had some great help.  While I was in New York immediately following the Newbery announcement, my sister and our good friend CY (C.Y. not sigh) came up with a To-Do list to help me in those busy days.  Things like #4 – Make new business cards.  #7 - Start a scrapbook.  And my favorite one, #13 – get pre-loaded credit cards for CY and Annmarie.


We set up weekly meetings to help keep me organized.  They consist of Annmarie and CY showing up at my house asking, “Is the coffee on?”  Or  “Can I fix myself an egg?”  Then Annmarie’s kids eat their breakfast at the counter and CY’s son tells us how the Wichita State Shockers are doing.  As soon as everyone’s fed, the kids go off to play or watch a show and I clean up the kitchen.  Then we start to discuss something, like updating my website, and then Annmarie’s littlest one has to go to the bathroom.  Then we start to talk about up upcoming event just in time for CY’s phone to ring.  Then I start to pull out my calendar to go over a few odds and ends as CY packs up to take Jake to school and Annmarie gathers up her kids.  Then I go in the family room to pick up the monopoly game that has been “played with” and is now on the floor. 

I get a lot done at those meetings.


But my daughter Grace did start a wonderful scrapbook full of Moon Over Manifest pictures and memorabilia, Annmarie did design some great new business cards, along with some for herself and CY giving them each the job title of “Assistant to the Assistant.”  They are still waiting for their fully loaded credit cards but I do make sure they get coffee and an egg once a week.


We’re all chipping in and we’re all having a great time.


Hopefully, I’ll get another update in before long.  I need to go change a roll of toilet paper.

oakley monster pup review

Full Colours oakley monster pup review Discount Price and High Quality! oakley monster pup review ,All the products support 30 days return for free enjoy free shipping

cheap flight and hotel deals oakley monster pup review These sites are oakley o frame tear offs oakley miss conduct squared sunglasses related gucci scarf tote bag to blood sugar management. Bestselling eBooks New eBooks View All in eBooks Our Top chanel scarf 10 DVDs ». At the end of the rental the final rental value will be charged. Pilates will aid you to achieve better posture, strength and tone of muscles (especially in the abdominal area), improve breathing, suppleness and balance. Read More Mar12 Whiteboard training day links Posted on Mar 12, 2008 in Interactive Whiteboards, Useful Links A big thanks to those who came to London today for the Lighthouse IWB training day. For bookings made for a rental in the UK, you must present the payment card used to complete this transaction when collecting your vehicle. All of these benefits will reduce your risk of future injury.

Save Money On oakley monster pup review in the official store Soaked types of oakley sunglasses In Luxury Soaked In Luxury Soaked in Luxury is a premium designer brand for women bringing together city chic, catwalk colours, a variety of fabrics and creative detailing. They are completely safe for the spiders and for the home. by Moleskine Address oakley running sunglasses book cheap louis vuitton scarf £. Their collections are feminine, sexy, urban and cool. As part of the PRIMUS pest control collection our team have selected the most effective spider traps and spider repellents. Pit Pit Little Mistress Little Mistress Uttam Boutique Uttam Boutique Uttam Boutique's burberry crinkle scarf SS14 collection arrives with a continued dedication to prints. Our collection includes products from leading manufacturers including Rentokil - theUK&rsquo.

Wolvesrule1235 on oakley online coupons April 15, 2014 at 9:28 oakley oil rig icons pm said: "Awosome" is spelled "Awesome" burberry mens scarf Reply &darr. That fake hermes scarf seemed to be the final straw as within days he tendered his resignation. It doesn't mean that they all lead to something, but that's fine. Our bespoke garments are made in the UK reducing lead times as well as ensuring a very high quality as standard. Karen Woodham: Thank you for sharing the article, we aim to help ». s election The secularist comeback A surprising defeat for the Islamist Nahda party 3 More in Middle East & Africa ». Comments (18) Please log in to enable comment sorting 7:53am Sat 1 Nov 14 umpcah says. Stylish And High Quality Authentic Luxury Items Outlet Online, oakley monster pup review enjoy the low price and top quality of fashion Luxury Items here

One for foot brake and oakley racing jacket photochromic sunglasses oakley minute machine? titanium bracelet edition one for the hydraulic hermes silk scarf hand brake. Or maybe a cheap burberry scarf cosmologist will think that telescopes aren't up to imaging exoplanets so nothing can be found out about them until the telescope technology catches up. Single outlet master cylinders may be replaced by a Tandem or Twin cylinder arrangement. I can't really explain it so check out the video below. Take the 1st right onto Enterprise Way 5. I can't control for the genes, the chemical exposure, the environment of every person who might take my drug so I can't test it. And while you're off doing that I am going to get the obviously needed hole in my head. oakley monster pup review

Find the latest Cheap oakley monster pup review ,all the Luxury Items UP 70% OFF Free Shipping Alloy casing for 4speed gearboxes are allowed. He is Chairman of the MMA UK Advisory Board and member of cheap oakley flak jacket sunglasses the EMEA Board. Concentric Slave cylinders are not allowed. Stephen was previously Co Chair of oakley radar path earsocks the louis vuitton winter scarf Global Advertising Committee and was a Member burberry scarf outlet of the IAB Mobile Advertising Committee. With over 18 years' experience in advertising and technology, Stephen is a practiced commentator and speaker. Standard unit or fully floating Atlas unit. Babac VafaeyCEOOnscrollBabac is Co Founder, OnScroll and Metric Science.