Clare Vanderpool
 Children's Book Author
 




                    


         "You have to write the book that wants to be written.  And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children."

                                               Madeleine L'Engle
Navigating Early
has been named a
2014 Printz Honor Book!

One boy from Kansas

+ one boy from Maine

+ one boat on the  

     AppalachianTrail

+ a search for a great bear

+ 3.14 (pi)_________________

= The journey of a lifetime

After his mother's death at the end of World War II, Jack Baker is suddenly uprooted from his home in Kansas and placed in a boys' boarding school in Maine.

       Feeling lost and adrift, Jack can't help being drawn to Early, who refuses to believe what everyone accepts to be the truth about the great Appalachian bear, timber rattlesnakes, and the legendary school hero known as the Fish, who was lost in the war.

       When Jack and Early find themselves alone at school, they set out for the Appalachian Trail on a quest for the great black bear.  Along the way they meet some truly strange characters, several of them dangerous, all lost in some way, and each a part of the pi story Early continues to reveal.  Jack's ability to be a steadfast friend to Early will be tested as the boys discover things they never knew about themselves and others.

       Navigating Early is a story that will challenge and astound readers as they navigate mysterious and uncharted lands.

(From the book jacket)

    






January 10, 2012

One year ago today...

I received amazing news.  It's not the only time I've received wonderful and life changing news.  Other times:


18 years ago, the doctor said, "It's a boy!" 

16 years ago, "It's another boy!"

14 years ago, "It's a girl!"

11 years ago, "It's another girl!"

9 years ago, "It's a dog!"

7 years ago... well, that must have been a slow year in the world

                       of amazing news, but you get the gist.

Still, January 10th, 2011 will forever be a day I will remember and celebrate.  A day that will give me lots of opportunities to say to my kids, "See, amazing things happen... and they can happen to you!"

This past year has been filled with many wonderful experiences.  Of course, one of the most special was the ALA conference in New Orleans where I received the Newbery Award.  My family came out in full force, i.e. my husband and four kids, my sister, her husband and their four kids, and my mom and dad.  I joked that we were like the Clampitt's riding into New Orleans.  No, we did not strap Grandma to the top of the 15 passenger van, but we certainly felt like we had struck it rich and really enjoyed the cement pond at the hotel.

I've met many wonderful people, spoken at lots of schools and conferences, gotten some great fan mail.  One of my favorites was from a 4th grader who told me he was glad that Kansas was now known for something other than basketball and weather!  That's big noise, especially since Kansas is pretty much the birthplace of basketball. 

So 2011 was a wonderful year but not only because of a special award.  Other big events:  Lucy got her braces off.  Paul got his braces on.  Luke crammed 80 high school kids in our garage for a dance and everyone survived.  Grace's singing has not broken any windows... yet.  (Lucy made me put that.)

And I finished my next book!  It is called Navigating Early and will come out next spring.  More on that soon.

So, life goes on and life is good.

Clare



April 2011


Okay.  I’ve procrastinated long enough.  Actually, I wouldn’t call it procrastination.  I just haven’t wrapped my brain around the fact that people I’m not related to are actually reading my website. 

 

I had a fun time creating this website last summer in preparation for the book coming out and part of that was because I approached it as if I was just talking to my sister, my kids, or my friend across the street.

 

Then January 10th rolled around and the Newbery seal went on my book, and all of the sudden people were e-mailing me, telling me something they had read on my website.  I think that’s when I froze up a bit and I gave myself the excuse of not updating it because I had to write my Newbery acceptance speech.  Or I needed to prepare for upcoming speaking engagements.  And those were valid excuses.  But then, they became a little less valid – like I need to fold some laundry.  Or I need to let the dogs out.  Or I really need to change out that roll of toilet paper. 

 

That’s when I realized I had a bit of writer’s block regarding my website.  So I decided to go to go back to what worked the first time.  I’m just going to write as if I’m talking to my sister, my kids, or my neighbor across the street - and just tell you what’s been going on in my world lately.

 

In a nutshell, life has been wonderful, crazy, and very busy.  I’ve had many invitations to speak at schools, conferences, book festivals.  What a thrill to get to talk to so many people who are very excited about my book!

 

In fact, I would have to say that one of the most unexpected and most wonderful results of winning the Newbery has been the way my local community in Wichita and people across Kansas have embraced the book and celebrated this wonderful honor with me.  It’s like there’s this big Newbery train and everyone feels free to jump on.  And I love that!

 

I also love the fact that I’ve had some great help.  While I was in New York immediately following the Newbery announcement, my sister and our good friend CY (C.Y. not sigh) came up with a To-Do list to help me in those busy days.  Things like #4 – Make new business cards.  #7 - Start a scrapbook.  And my favorite one, #13 – get pre-loaded credit cards for CY and Annmarie.

 

We set up weekly meetings to help keep me organized.  They consist of Annmarie and CY showing up at my house asking, “Is the coffee on?”  Or  “Can I fix myself an egg?”  Then Annmarie’s kids eat their breakfast at the counter and CY’s son tells us how the Wichita State Shockers are doing.  As soon as everyone’s fed, the kids go off to play or watch a show and I clean up the kitchen.  Then we start to discuss something, like updating my website, and then Annmarie’s littlest one has to go to the bathroom.  Then we start to talk about up upcoming event just in time for CY’s phone to ring.  Then I start to pull out my calendar to go over a few odds and ends as CY packs up to take Jake to school and Annmarie gathers up her kids.  Then I go in the family room to pick up the monopoly game that has been “played with” and is now on the floor. 

I get a lot done at those meetings.

 

But my daughter Grace did start a wonderful scrapbook full of Moon Over Manifest pictures and memorabilia, Annmarie did design some great new business cards, along with some for herself and CY giving them each the job title of “Assistant to the Assistant.”  They are still waiting for their fully loaded credit cards but I do make sure they get coffee and an egg once a week.

 

We’re all chipping in and we’re all having a great time.

 

Hopefully, I’ll get another update in before long.  I need to go change a roll of toilet paper.





oakley mp3 sunglasses review

Top Value oakley mp3 sunglasses review save 65% oakley mp3 sunglasses review France Sale UK direct

horse trailer financing oakley mp3 sunglasses review PEKING TO PARIS DAY 21 inexpensive oakley sunglasses oakley outerwear jackets RESULTS Day 21 louis vuitton scarf for sale Samara to Saratov. truth is just relative' I dig out my copy of A Devil's Chaplain and re read the chapter in which Dawkins writes a letter on truth to his ten year old daughter. As the Peking to Paris Rally continues to cross the Russian Steppes news is coming in that the Ford Model A of Bill Cleyndert and Mark van Hees has blown its crankshaft to bi. It says it all, I think and you can see it in its entirety here: sponders. p 102823#comment 850151 What is the latest with this. Will we see a change to Old Street soon. 2 If on investigation the Company reasonably determines that any defect in or malfunction of the Equipment is the burberry scarf result of any of the matters referred to in clause 4.

Best Buy oakley mp3 sunglasses review Outlet Lastly we can help each oakley radar path polarized sunglasses other by sharing our experiences, giving each other ideas, encouragement and sharing new technology that we have come across and found useful. Neurological conditions benefit from regular reviews to offer fresh ideas to ongoing maintanance and possible solutions to new problems you may encounter. RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP 2013 TV COVERAGE The television coverage of the 2013 West Wales oakley lenses half jacket xlj Rally Spares R. Our aim is silk hermes scarf to give you back control and promote your independence. To register for the two day event, enabling attendance to a whole host of groundbreaking and dynamic recruitment events, and to read more details on what is on offer click here. The best way to do this is to join a lipreading class or support group. Alloy centrally mounted replacement discount burberry scarf petrol tank.

121 Captions oakley eyepatch 2 lens has oakley spike sunglasses gucci scarf been used to cover many National events burberry scarf such as the Royal Wedding, the Olympics and also events in other countries. L FroggattTreated for a frozen shoulder. There are many articles of interest in the deaf newspaper on this website in addition to the information provided. PEKING TO PARIS 2013 NEWS A comprehensive, Training Day and Briefing weekend has been arranged by the organisers of next year's Peking to Paris Motor Challenge over the weekend 1 2 December 2012. First appointment I had very limited movement, but a series of exercises & acupuncture worked wonders. The Training Day on Saturday 1. Very impressed with the service. Find a great selection of oakley mp3 sunglasses review ,we offer all Luxury Items Sale at discount price,worldwide free shipping

The 90 minute programme on Motors T. I have always found their service to be courteous & efficient. Please oakly sun glasses get in touch with your training requests. Kitchen cutlery NAUTILA Serie Kitchen and carving cutlery oakley nosepiece OR. There is no minimum or maximum word count, just write and see where your creativity leads you. If you buy louis vuitton scarf online or someone you care for is facing a crisis and in distress, please contact NHS 24 on 111 or your GP discount burberry scarf directly. The reason we continue to advertise with SEN magazine is that when we collect feedback from our delegates at our workshops on what publications they read, SEN magazine is always in the top 3. oakley mp3 sunglasses review

Shop Luxury Items for great deals oakley mp3 sunglasses review ,Luxury Items stores mixed in cheap souvenir shops And where oakley plaintiff鈩?polarized sunglasses - polished chrome oakley radar pitch is the educational ‘. BROOKLANDS BIRTHDAY Today hermes scarf (Monday 17 June) is the birthday of Brooklands Race Track. truth' that the scientists can deliver us. Congratulations, and we can pay no better tribute than to recommend a reading of Bill Boddy's excellent book on the subject, originally. Reply teachingbattleground says: October 21, 2014 at 9:04 pm "Logic tells us that since we know dogs can't fly, I don't have to see every dog to know a particular dog will be flightless. by Gareth Newton Williams stlondonlines. While this may discount hermes scarf be true, logic is a notoriously poor predictor of black swans.