Clare Vanderpool
 Children's Book Author
 




                    


         "You have to write the book that wants to be written.  And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children."

                                               Madeleine L'Engle
Navigating Early
has been named a
2014 Printz Honor Book!

One boy from Kansas

+ one boy from Maine

+ one boat on the  

     AppalachianTrail

+ a search for a great bear

+ 3.14 (pi)_________________

= The journey of a lifetime

After his mother's death at the end of World War II, Jack Baker is suddenly uprooted from his home in Kansas and placed in a boys' boarding school in Maine.

       Feeling lost and adrift, Jack can't help being drawn to Early, who refuses to believe what everyone accepts to be the truth about the great Appalachian bear, timber rattlesnakes, and the legendary school hero known as the Fish, who was lost in the war.

       When Jack and Early find themselves alone at school, they set out for the Appalachian Trail on a quest for the great black bear.  Along the way they meet some truly strange characters, several of them dangerous, all lost in some way, and each a part of the pi story Early continues to reveal.  Jack's ability to be a steadfast friend to Early will be tested as the boys discover things they never knew about themselves and others.

       Navigating Early is a story that will challenge and astound readers as they navigate mysterious and uncharted lands.

(From the book jacket)

    






January 10, 2012

One year ago today...

I received amazing news.  It's not the only time I've received wonderful and life changing news.  Other times:


18 years ago, the doctor said, "It's a boy!" 

16 years ago, "It's another boy!"

14 years ago, "It's a girl!"

11 years ago, "It's another girl!"

9 years ago, "It's a dog!"

7 years ago... well, that must have been a slow year in the world

                       of amazing news, but you get the gist.

Still, January 10th, 2011 will forever be a day I will remember and celebrate.  A day that will give me lots of opportunities to say to my kids, "See, amazing things happen... and they can happen to you!"

This past year has been filled with many wonderful experiences.  Of course, one of the most special was the ALA conference in New Orleans where I received the Newbery Award.  My family came out in full force, i.e. my husband and four kids, my sister, her husband and their four kids, and my mom and dad.  I joked that we were like the Clampitt's riding into New Orleans.  No, we did not strap Grandma to the top of the 15 passenger van, but we certainly felt like we had struck it rich and really enjoyed the cement pond at the hotel.

I've met many wonderful people, spoken at lots of schools and conferences, gotten some great fan mail.  One of my favorites was from a 4th grader who told me he was glad that Kansas was now known for something other than basketball and weather!  That's big noise, especially since Kansas is pretty much the birthplace of basketball. 

So 2011 was a wonderful year but not only because of a special award.  Other big events:  Lucy got her braces off.  Paul got his braces on.  Luke crammed 80 high school kids in our garage for a dance and everyone survived.  Grace's singing has not broken any windows... yet.  (Lucy made me put that.)

And I finished my next book!  It is called Navigating Early and will come out next spring.  More on that soon.

So, life goes on and life is good.

Clare



April 2011


Okay.  I’ve procrastinated long enough.  Actually, I wouldn’t call it procrastination.  I just haven’t wrapped my brain around the fact that people I’m not related to are actually reading my website. 

 

I had a fun time creating this website last summer in preparation for the book coming out and part of that was because I approached it as if I was just talking to my sister, my kids, or my friend across the street.

 

Then January 10th rolled around and the Newbery seal went on my book, and all of the sudden people were e-mailing me, telling me something they had read on my website.  I think that’s when I froze up a bit and I gave myself the excuse of not updating it because I had to write my Newbery acceptance speech.  Or I needed to prepare for upcoming speaking engagements.  And those were valid excuses.  But then, they became a little less valid – like I need to fold some laundry.  Or I need to let the dogs out.  Or I really need to change out that roll of toilet paper. 

 

That’s when I realized I had a bit of writer’s block regarding my website.  So I decided to go to go back to what worked the first time.  I’m just going to write as if I’m talking to my sister, my kids, or my neighbor across the street - and just tell you what’s been going on in my world lately.

 

In a nutshell, life has been wonderful, crazy, and very busy.  I’ve had many invitations to speak at schools, conferences, book festivals.  What a thrill to get to talk to so many people who are very excited about my book!

 

In fact, I would have to say that one of the most unexpected and most wonderful results of winning the Newbery has been the way my local community in Wichita and people across Kansas have embraced the book and celebrated this wonderful honor with me.  It’s like there’s this big Newbery train and everyone feels free to jump on.  And I love that!

 

I also love the fact that I’ve had some great help.  While I was in New York immediately following the Newbery announcement, my sister and our good friend CY (C.Y. not sigh) came up with a To-Do list to help me in those busy days.  Things like #4 – Make new business cards.  #7 - Start a scrapbook.  And my favorite one, #13 – get pre-loaded credit cards for CY and Annmarie.

 

We set up weekly meetings to help keep me organized.  They consist of Annmarie and CY showing up at my house asking, “Is the coffee on?”  Or  “Can I fix myself an egg?”  Then Annmarie’s kids eat their breakfast at the counter and CY’s son tells us how the Wichita State Shockers are doing.  As soon as everyone’s fed, the kids go off to play or watch a show and I clean up the kitchen.  Then we start to discuss something, like updating my website, and then Annmarie’s littlest one has to go to the bathroom.  Then we start to talk about up upcoming event just in time for CY’s phone to ring.  Then I start to pull out my calendar to go over a few odds and ends as CY packs up to take Jake to school and Annmarie gathers up her kids.  Then I go in the family room to pick up the monopoly game that has been “played with” and is now on the floor. 

I get a lot done at those meetings.

 

But my daughter Grace did start a wonderful scrapbook full of Moon Over Manifest pictures and memorabilia, Annmarie did design some great new business cards, along with some for herself and CY giving them each the job title of “Assistant to the Assistant.”  They are still waiting for their fully loaded credit cards but I do make sure they get coffee and an egg once a week.

 

We’re all chipping in and we’re all having a great time.

 

Hopefully, I’ll get another update in before long.  I need to go change a roll of toilet paper.





oakley nanowire 1.0 reviews

It’s New oakley nanowire 1.0 reviews Bargain Blitz oakley nanowire 1.0 reviews in online store

local job openings oakley nanowire 1.0 reviews Cheaper oil oakley oil rig white Many oakley military backpack winners, a few bad losers A lower price will boost the world economy and harm some unpleasant regimes but there are risks 52 More in Business & finance ». Reply MRM says: October 1, 2014 at 11:44 pm Wow. The euro crisis Back to reality The debt of some euro zone economies looks unsustainable 49 More in Europe ». City devolution in England Devo Met Big English cities are pushing for more power 13 gucci scarf outlet More in Britain ». A phone call or a face to face would have been the way to deal with gucci scarf women it. s election The secularist comeback A surprising defeat for the Islamist Nahda party 3 More in Middle East & Africa ». you have inspired me to be a better version of myself and for that I thank you.

January Jamboree Savings Spree oakley nanowire 1.0 reviews Bargain Bonanza When these Terms are changed, Orion Media oakley nanowire 2.0 sunglasses will oakley radar pitch lenses louis vuitton hat and scarf set publish details of the new Terms as updated from time to time. This year, nearly 9,300 expats from around the world shared their views on quality of life, financial wellbeing and the ease of raising a family abroad. 81Save:42% off Charming A line One Shoulder Ruching Floor length Chiffon Evening Dresses. You are therefore advised to review these louis vuitton scarfs Terms regularly to ensure that you are aware of any changes we make. Switzerland comes top for a balanced life abroad The survey reveals that expats living in Switzerland enjoy the best of expat life, with the country ranking first out of 34 countries. By continuing to use the Sites, you are agreeing now to be bound by those changes and revised terms. One quarter (25%) of expats in Switzerland earn more than USD200,000 p.

Reply Michael Dorian oakley holbrook polarized green says: oakley retailers pa October 2, 2014 at 10:55 pm I can't think of anyone else who has had more influence on my teaching than yourself. Please continue to express your viewpoint. There are lots of us out here who admire your determination to challenge those chanel scarf things in hermes 2014 scarves education that seem to have been formed on the back of a fag packet. Accept Find out more about cookies Newsletter Store locator Help Your basket: 0 items, £. The only way we will strengthen our profession is if more people, like yourself, stand up and challenge the half baked ideas so often circulated in education. Thank you for throwing the first stone. Secret Santa Gifts Stocking Fillers Under £10 Luxury Gifts Gifts by Recipient ». Store provides many latest and cheap oakley nanowire 1.0 reviews sale in Luxury Items store

Because you don't share oakley sunglasses frogskin it, oakley nose piece flak jacket I cheap louis vuitton scarf guess you're out. take that on March 29, 2014 at 3:48 am said: I DONT LIKE IT FULLSTOP. These cookies don't contain any personal information but they do contain a history of pages viewed on the computer that you are using. Reply Tom Sherrington says: October 2, 2014 at 8:23 pm That's rough. Elkin Moore on April 2, 2014 at 2:23 am said: Good game Reply &darr. This is why you might see, for example, John Lewis adverts after browsing the John Lewis website. You remain hermes scarf designers my No 1 point of reference for educational thinking and the original inspiration for taking Twitter and blogging seriously. oakley nanowire 1.0 reviews

Welcome to our online sotre oakley nanowire 1.0 reviews sale on our online store An oakley sunglasses strap education oakley minute machine watch consultant is sacked. Tyrone on August 26, 2013 at 9:47 pm cheap burberry scarf said: I love tiny tower Reply &darr. Tyrone on August 26, 2013 at chanel hat and scarf 9:48 pm said: Tiny tower is the best app Reply &darr. If you or someone you care for is facing a crisis and in distress, please contact NHS 24 on 111 or your GP directly. Preet on August 27, 2013 at 6:19 am said: Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo fun. Reply David Didau says: October 1, 2014 at 10:14 pm It's worth a lot. Click here for further information and contact details.