Clare Vanderpool
 Children's Book Author
 




                    


         "You have to write the book that wants to be written.  And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children."

                                               Madeleine L'Engle
Navigating Early
has been named a
2014 Printz Honor Book!

One boy from Kansas

+ one boy from Maine

+ one boat on the  

     AppalachianTrail

+ a search for a great bear

+ 3.14 (pi)_________________

= The journey of a lifetime

After his mother's death at the end of World War II, Jack Baker is suddenly uprooted from his home in Kansas and placed in a boys' boarding school in Maine.

       Feeling lost and adrift, Jack can't help being drawn to Early, who refuses to believe what everyone accepts to be the truth about the great Appalachian bear, timber rattlesnakes, and the legendary school hero known as the Fish, who was lost in the war.

       When Jack and Early find themselves alone at school, they set out for the Appalachian Trail on a quest for the great black bear.  Along the way they meet some truly strange characters, several of them dangerous, all lost in some way, and each a part of the pi story Early continues to reveal.  Jack's ability to be a steadfast friend to Early will be tested as the boys discover things they never knew about themselves and others.

       Navigating Early is a story that will challenge and astound readers as they navigate mysterious and uncharted lands.

(From the book jacket)

    






January 10, 2012

One year ago today...

I received amazing news.  It's not the only time I've received wonderful and life changing news.  Other times:


18 years ago, the doctor said, "It's a boy!" 

16 years ago, "It's another boy!"

14 years ago, "It's a girl!"

11 years ago, "It's another girl!"

9 years ago, "It's a dog!"

7 years ago... well, that must have been a slow year in the world

                       of amazing news, but you get the gist.

Still, January 10th, 2011 will forever be a day I will remember and celebrate.  A day that will give me lots of opportunities to say to my kids, "See, amazing things happen... and they can happen to you!"

This past year has been filled with many wonderful experiences.  Of course, one of the most special was the ALA conference in New Orleans where I received the Newbery Award.  My family came out in full force, i.e. my husband and four kids, my sister, her husband and their four kids, and my mom and dad.  I joked that we were like the Clampitt's riding into New Orleans.  No, we did not strap Grandma to the top of the 15 passenger van, but we certainly felt like we had struck it rich and really enjoyed the cement pond at the hotel.

I've met many wonderful people, spoken at lots of schools and conferences, gotten some great fan mail.  One of my favorites was from a 4th grader who told me he was glad that Kansas was now known for something other than basketball and weather!  That's big noise, especially since Kansas is pretty much the birthplace of basketball. 

So 2011 was a wonderful year but not only because of a special award.  Other big events:  Lucy got her braces off.  Paul got his braces on.  Luke crammed 80 high school kids in our garage for a dance and everyone survived.  Grace's singing has not broken any windows... yet.  (Lucy made me put that.)

And I finished my next book!  It is called Navigating Early and will come out next spring.  More on that soon.

So, life goes on and life is good.

Clare



April 2011


Okay.  I’ve procrastinated long enough.  Actually, I wouldn’t call it procrastination.  I just haven’t wrapped my brain around the fact that people I’m not related to are actually reading my website. 

 

I had a fun time creating this website last summer in preparation for the book coming out and part of that was because I approached it as if I was just talking to my sister, my kids, or my friend across the street.

 

Then January 10th rolled around and the Newbery seal went on my book, and all of the sudden people were e-mailing me, telling me something they had read on my website.  I think that’s when I froze up a bit and I gave myself the excuse of not updating it because I had to write my Newbery acceptance speech.  Or I needed to prepare for upcoming speaking engagements.  And those were valid excuses.  But then, they became a little less valid – like I need to fold some laundry.  Or I need to let the dogs out.  Or I really need to change out that roll of toilet paper. 

 

That’s when I realized I had a bit of writer’s block regarding my website.  So I decided to go to go back to what worked the first time.  I’m just going to write as if I’m talking to my sister, my kids, or my neighbor across the street - and just tell you what’s been going on in my world lately.

 

In a nutshell, life has been wonderful, crazy, and very busy.  I’ve had many invitations to speak at schools, conferences, book festivals.  What a thrill to get to talk to so many people who are very excited about my book!

 

In fact, I would have to say that one of the most unexpected and most wonderful results of winning the Newbery has been the way my local community in Wichita and people across Kansas have embraced the book and celebrated this wonderful honor with me.  It’s like there’s this big Newbery train and everyone feels free to jump on.  And I love that!

 

I also love the fact that I’ve had some great help.  While I was in New York immediately following the Newbery announcement, my sister and our good friend CY (C.Y. not sigh) came up with a To-Do list to help me in those busy days.  Things like #4 – Make new business cards.  #7 - Start a scrapbook.  And my favorite one, #13 – get pre-loaded credit cards for CY and Annmarie.

 

We set up weekly meetings to help keep me organized.  They consist of Annmarie and CY showing up at my house asking, “Is the coffee on?”  Or  “Can I fix myself an egg?”  Then Annmarie’s kids eat their breakfast at the counter and CY’s son tells us how the Wichita State Shockers are doing.  As soon as everyone’s fed, the kids go off to play or watch a show and I clean up the kitchen.  Then we start to discuss something, like updating my website, and then Annmarie’s littlest one has to go to the bathroom.  Then we start to talk about up upcoming event just in time for CY’s phone to ring.  Then I start to pull out my calendar to go over a few odds and ends as CY packs up to take Jake to school and Annmarie gathers up her kids.  Then I go in the family room to pick up the monopoly game that has been “played with” and is now on the floor. 

I get a lot done at those meetings.

 

But my daughter Grace did start a wonderful scrapbook full of Moon Over Manifest pictures and memorabilia, Annmarie did design some great new business cards, along with some for herself and CY giving them each the job title of “Assistant to the Assistant.”  They are still waiting for their fully loaded credit cards but I do make sure they get coffee and an egg once a week.

 

We’re all chipping in and we’re all having a great time.

 

Hopefully, I’ll get another update in before long.  I need to go change a roll of toilet paper.





oakley nanowire 4.0 review

Buy oakley nanowire 4.0 review Outlet Genuine oakley nanowire 4.0 review Free shipping within 24 hours! Low Price but High Quality

international news oakley nanowire 4.0 review One oakley photochromic goggles oakley military boots elite thing that intrigues me is who is invested in maintaining the status quo. Nurse putting on her stockings Friday, October 31st, 2014 What is it about a nurses uniform, buy hermes scarf that gets men hot. What gets me hot is the saucy films, with naughty nurses. It's either people who are scared of changing how things have always been done (a problem of leadership. ), or who are better off as things stand (a problem of integrity. But only if they are wearing stockings of course. Here I am, nurse Sabrina, taking hermes scarf off my tanned stockings and changing them for my black stockings.

Buy Cheap oakley nanowire 4.0 review On Sale With the pace now hotting up, Jan Ebus and Jan Berkhof still lead in the well campaigned oakley monster dog sunglasses polarized Porsche 356. RECORD UK SALES FOR FERRARI IN 2013 It's a funny old world, reports Ken Davies. Just as I become convinced that Great Britain is stoney broke Italian supercar company Ferrari announces oakley x metal that they achieved a record year in 2013 on the ba. 2014 WINTER CHALLENGE DAY 2 Day 2: Bourges. Menu Skip to content Home About Coaching Tours Speaking ‘. How to' in 21 Days Resources Top Tips Top 10 Flirting Tips Tips for Graceful Exits and Other Social Quandaries Tips for Finding a Partner Take the ‘. MALLORY PARK RE OPENS Mallory Park Race Circuit will open its gates chanel camellia scarf hermes carre scarf in a Motorsport Extravaganza Open Day on Saturday 1 March 2014.

You oakley nose pads replacement need oakley monster dog review cheap burberry scarf gucci womens scarf JavaScript enabled to view it. Price of course to be confirmed. Prior’s Court Training and Development Centre, Newbury, BerkshireThis email address is being protected from spambots. 2 MidgetCategory 2 MGB V8OpelCategory 2 Manta TE2800Category 3 Kadett D 1. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 3 FWDCategory 3 Opel Kadett RWDPorscheCategory 1 Porsche 911Category 2 Porsche 911Category 2 Porsche RS 3ltSaabCategory 1 &. 01635 247202 More 25 February 2015NAS Training – Understanding and Supporting children with PDA CardiffLearn about Pathological Demand Avoidance(PDA) and its relationships to the autism spectrum. Welcome you shopping with us oakley nanowire 4.0 review in our store enjoy the best quality of items

ineffective' teachers, are oakley penny replacement lenses ice they right, and if so, shouldn't we be using it. Karen Woodham: Thank you, oakley radar path polarized replacement lenses it was lovely to have burberry scarf kids Virginia, Spencer ». More about the event at craevents. 99 The Midnight Beast from £. Slappy Bear: Well done, I can't believe to got an actress from ». Reply Dani Quinn says: October discount hermes scarf 30, 2014 at 12:16 am A DADA post without Dolores Umbridge is truly a missed opportunity. Karen Woodham: Thank you for sharing the article, we aim to help ». oakley nanowire 4.0 review

Save up to 60% on Authentic oakley nanowire 4.0 review the hospitable customer service and the fastest delivery Rally Championship will have a chance of winning 50 percent of the entry oakley m frame heater accessory lens kits fee for the 2014 Roger Albert Clark oakley fives sunglasses Rally taking place o. Barrack Obama on November 15, 2013 at 5:01 am where can i buy a silk scarf said: This is great. 12:52 pm By Karen Woodham So earlier we posted about the news that the Scala in Prestatyn would be closing its doors on Thursday, which is a hermes scarves price blow to the towns Read More ». Perforated copper cladding and willow screens cover the buildings, dappling sunlight onto buildings interiors and registering the reflection of light on the water below. My job is time consuming but the kids ALWAYS find a way to get me to play. Karen Woodham: Thank you, it was lovely to have Virginia, Spencer ». EARLY CHRISTMAS PRESENT Mallory Park has announced the return of its well loved Plum Pudding Meeting during the 2014 Christmas holidays.