Clare Vanderpool
 Children's Book Author


         "You have to write the book that wants to be written.  And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children."

                                               Madeleine L'Engle
Navigating Early
has been named a
2014 Printz Honor Book!

One boy from Kansas

+ one boy from Maine

+ one boat on the  


+ a search for a great bear

+ 3.14 (pi)_________________

= The journey of a lifetime

After his mother's death at the end of World War II, Jack Baker is suddenly uprooted from his home in Kansas and placed in a boys' boarding school in Maine.

       Feeling lost and adrift, Jack can't help being drawn to Early, who refuses to believe what everyone accepts to be the truth about the great Appalachian bear, timber rattlesnakes, and the legendary school hero known as the Fish, who was lost in the war.

       When Jack and Early find themselves alone at school, they set out for the Appalachian Trail on a quest for the great black bear.  Along the way they meet some truly strange characters, several of them dangerous, all lost in some way, and each a part of the pi story Early continues to reveal.  Jack's ability to be a steadfast friend to Early will be tested as the boys discover things they never knew about themselves and others.

       Navigating Early is a story that will challenge and astound readers as they navigate mysterious and uncharted lands.

(From the book jacket)


January 10, 2012

One year ago today...

I received amazing news.  It's not the only time I've received wonderful and life changing news.  Other times:

18 years ago, the doctor said, "It's a boy!" 

16 years ago, "It's another boy!"

14 years ago, "It's a girl!"

11 years ago, "It's another girl!"

9 years ago, "It's a dog!"

7 years ago... well, that must have been a slow year in the world

                       of amazing news, but you get the gist.

Still, January 10th, 2011 will forever be a day I will remember and celebrate.  A day that will give me lots of opportunities to say to my kids, "See, amazing things happen... and they can happen to you!"

This past year has been filled with many wonderful experiences.  Of course, one of the most special was the ALA conference in New Orleans where I received the Newbery Award.  My family came out in full force, i.e. my husband and four kids, my sister, her husband and their four kids, and my mom and dad.  I joked that we were like the Clampitt's riding into New Orleans.  No, we did not strap Grandma to the top of the 15 passenger van, but we certainly felt like we had struck it rich and really enjoyed the cement pond at the hotel.

I've met many wonderful people, spoken at lots of schools and conferences, gotten some great fan mail.  One of my favorites was from a 4th grader who told me he was glad that Kansas was now known for something other than basketball and weather!  That's big noise, especially since Kansas is pretty much the birthplace of basketball. 

So 2011 was a wonderful year but not only because of a special award.  Other big events:  Lucy got her braces off.  Paul got his braces on.  Luke crammed 80 high school kids in our garage for a dance and everyone survived.  Grace's singing has not broken any windows... yet.  (Lucy made me put that.)

And I finished my next book!  It is called Navigating Early and will come out next spring.  More on that soon.

So, life goes on and life is good.


April 2011

Okay.  I’ve procrastinated long enough.  Actually, I wouldn’t call it procrastination.  I just haven’t wrapped my brain around the fact that people I’m not related to are actually reading my website. 


I had a fun time creating this website last summer in preparation for the book coming out and part of that was because I approached it as if I was just talking to my sister, my kids, or my friend across the street.


Then January 10th rolled around and the Newbery seal went on my book, and all of the sudden people were e-mailing me, telling me something they had read on my website.  I think that’s when I froze up a bit and I gave myself the excuse of not updating it because I had to write my Newbery acceptance speech.  Or I needed to prepare for upcoming speaking engagements.  And those were valid excuses.  But then, they became a little less valid – like I need to fold some laundry.  Or I need to let the dogs out.  Or I really need to change out that roll of toilet paper. 


That’s when I realized I had a bit of writer’s block regarding my website.  So I decided to go to go back to what worked the first time.  I’m just going to write as if I’m talking to my sister, my kids, or my neighbor across the street - and just tell you what’s been going on in my world lately.


In a nutshell, life has been wonderful, crazy, and very busy.  I’ve had many invitations to speak at schools, conferences, book festivals.  What a thrill to get to talk to so many people who are very excited about my book!


In fact, I would have to say that one of the most unexpected and most wonderful results of winning the Newbery has been the way my local community in Wichita and people across Kansas have embraced the book and celebrated this wonderful honor with me.  It’s like there’s this big Newbery train and everyone feels free to jump on.  And I love that!


I also love the fact that I’ve had some great help.  While I was in New York immediately following the Newbery announcement, my sister and our good friend CY (C.Y. not sigh) came up with a To-Do list to help me in those busy days.  Things like #4 – Make new business cards.  #7 - Start a scrapbook.  And my favorite one, #13 – get pre-loaded credit cards for CY and Annmarie.


We set up weekly meetings to help keep me organized.  They consist of Annmarie and CY showing up at my house asking, “Is the coffee on?”  Or  “Can I fix myself an egg?”  Then Annmarie’s kids eat their breakfast at the counter and CY’s son tells us how the Wichita State Shockers are doing.  As soon as everyone’s fed, the kids go off to play or watch a show and I clean up the kitchen.  Then we start to discuss something, like updating my website, and then Annmarie’s littlest one has to go to the bathroom.  Then we start to talk about up upcoming event just in time for CY’s phone to ring.  Then I start to pull out my calendar to go over a few odds and ends as CY packs up to take Jake to school and Annmarie gathers up her kids.  Then I go in the family room to pick up the monopoly game that has been “played with” and is now on the floor. 

I get a lot done at those meetings.


But my daughter Grace did start a wonderful scrapbook full of Moon Over Manifest pictures and memorabilia, Annmarie did design some great new business cards, along with some for herself and CY giving them each the job title of “Assistant to the Assistant.”  They are still waiting for their fully loaded credit cards but I do make sure they get coffee and an egg once a week.


We’re all chipping in and we’re all having a great time.


Hopefully, I’ll get another update in before long.  I need to go change a roll of toilet paper.

oakley panel pack reviews

Lowest Price oakley panel pack reviews Us Sale oakley panel pack reviews 2013 latest Luxury Items free Shipping

bachelor in information technology oakley panel pack reviews (published by the Pitt Rivers Museum). Mouthwash and fancy toothbrushes are a waste of money: Leading dentist says brushing regularly, avoiding. Most GPs snub advice to prescribe more statins: oakley pit boss tron Two thirds of doctors remain concerned about potential. Patrick's work occupies a territory where documentary arts practice overlaps with anthropology. He has presented papers at anthropology conferences, lectures to various University anthropology courses and contributes regularly to the Visual Anthropology MA at Manchester. As a result of a conference presentation to the International Association of Ladakh Studies in Rome, Patrick was invited to oakley nose pads for sunglasses join a major multidisciplinary research fieldtrip to Western Tibet in 2010. PLATELL'S gucci scarf outlet PEOPLE: Why louis vuitton hat and scarf set for men DOES the Left put single mums on a pedestal.

Big Discount oakley panel pack reviews Online Pizza oakley prescription sunglasses review oakley m frame strike iridium louis vuitton scarf Cooling Tables Mini ¨Pizza Cooling Table American Pizzatables Sandwich Preparation Tables Cooling Top with Stainless Ste. No previous Government has been bold enough to go to Europe and say no to a treaty that louis vuitton scarf price wasn't in Britain's interests. Ah, he means the veto which wasn't a veto, because a veto is supposed to prevent something from happening. No previous Government dared to reform university finance in such a fundamental way. So give yourself a pat on the back. No previous Government has been brave enough to take on genuine reform of our public sector pension system and cut  in half the long term cost to the taxpayer. Ventilated Cooling Tables FUCH.

50 2 years 4 years 6 baby oakley sunglasses years Bobo Choses Jersey Skirt Stars £32. 00 2 oakley replacement lenses m frame 3 years 4 5 years 6 7 years GRO Velour Baggy Pant in Washed Black £44. 50 2 years 3 years louis vuitton leopard scarf 4 years 6 years Beau Loves Long Sleeved Fin T shirt With Crosses £26. Some of the baby fashion clothes labels currently available are: Mini Rodini, Bobo Choses, Soft Gallery, Beau Loves and Tuss. View our fashion for babies here. Check out our fashion for girls here. Find our fashion for how much are burberry scarves boys here. The lowest price for oakley panel pack reviews High quality and low price

get people back to work', have been accused by systemic fraud as part of a multi billion oakley prescription glasses replacement parts oakley inmates black pound scandal. According to the Mail, A4e spent £45million of public money securing just 4,000 permanent jobs, whilst their chairman paid herself £8. Since 2009 Davidmann's work on 'The Family' has included her own family and family history. Underpinning much of Davidmann's photography is a strong aesthetic, which stems from her background in painting and the history of art. Davidmann's photographs are internationally chanel scarf exhibited and chanel silk scarves published, and she has received numerous awards for her work. And all these goals aren't tick boxes on some Government spreadsheet. Davidmann has recently published a chapter in the book 'Transgender Experiences: Place, Ethnicity and Visibility'. oakley panel pack reviews

You can enjoy the big discount authentic oakley panel pack reviews the first choice in Luxury Items outlet and Accessories.Shop luxury Luxury Items, clutches, totes & more. Made In Italy Powered By oakley prescription sunglasses review Serendipity PHP oakley nose pads radar Weblog My Little Tag Bar Who Links Here Enter your Email Powered by FeedBlitz This work is licenced under a Creative Commons Licence. 79 Compare Back in stock soon Walden Farms Chocolate Dip 340g £3. Before she louis vuitton logomania scarf pulls down her panties and fucks herself with a dildo in the first movie. This submissive sex slave begins with training which teaches her how to behave with a dom and shows this slave the purpose for cheap burberry scarf being here, which of course is to be used as a sex slave. Other Pages Archives November 2014 (0) October 2014 (0) September 2014 (0) August 2014 (0) July 2014 (0) Recent. 68 and are available in selected Waitrose stores, Asda and online at Sharpham Park. 79 Compare Add To Cart Walden Farms Hickory Smoked BBQ Sauce 340g £3.